Bravo for the ARTS: Arts Advocacy & Leadership

Bravo for the Arts is an annual event presented by the Tippecanoe Arts Federation that celebrates the arts, its leadership, and community partners. Arts and cultural organizations receive their grants on behalf of the Indiana Arts Commission and North Central Health Services during the event. The highlight of the event recognizes an outstanding business and individual that have moved the arts forward in North Central Indiana. 

Wednesday, October 14, 2015
11:30am - 1:00pm (Registration at 11:00)
$25/person, $200/table

The Trails Banquet Facility
325 Burnetts Road, West Lafayette


Keynote Speaker:
Dave Lawrence
President & CEO, Arts Council of Indianapolis

Jeff Smith
Managing News Editor, WLFI, News Channel 18

Proclamation by local elected officials

2015's Recipients
*North Central Health Services Capital Grants - Athens of Indiana, Carrol County Wabash and Erie Canal, Flora Main Street, The International Center, Lafayette Symphony Orchestra, and Tippecanoe County Historical Association

*Indiana Arts Commission Regional Initiative Grants - Art Museum of Greater Lafayette, Bach Chorale Singers, Inc., Civic Theatre of Greater Lafayette Inc., Flora-Monroe Twp. Public Library, Friends of the Frankfort Public Library, Inc., Robert & Ellen Haan Mansion Museum of Indiana Art, Indiana Fiddlers' Gathering, Inc., Jessie's Kids Foundation, Inc., Kokomo Civic Theatre, Inc., Kokomo Community Concerts, Kokomo Park Band, Inc., Kokomo Symphonic Society, Inc., Lafayette Citizens Band, Inc., Lafayette Symphony, Inc., Long Center, Inc., Montgomery County Cultural Foundation, Inc., MSD of Warren County, Prairie Arts Council, Prairie Preservation Guild Ltd., Purdue University - Jazz Fest, Purdue University Galleries, Tippecanoe County Historical Association, Tipton Community Theatre, Tipton County Pork Festival, Inc., Wabash College, Wabash Valley Youth Symphony, and West Lafayette Public Library

*Bravo Award - Huston Electric

*John Corey Arts Leadership Award - Sara Mummey

The 2015 Bravo for the Arts was made possible with support from Duke Energy, 1st Source Bank, North Central Health Services, the Indiana Arts Commission, the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency, and artists Jeff and Jane Boswell.

Past keynote speakers at Bravo for the Arts include Dave Lawrence, Tom Torluemke, Richard Florida, Rebecca Ryan, Ann Markusen, Lewis Ricci, Ramona Baker, Joe Hale and Don Steffy.

Bravo Awards

Bravo Awards are presented to businesses that have made significant contributions to arts and culture organizations, including financial assistance or in-kind donations or by providing volunteers for events, boards or projects.

Past Years Recipients


Huston Electric


Henriott Group


Arni's Restaurants - Cohen Family


Reed & Company


Pay Less Kroger


Wilson Industrial Sales Company (Newton County)


Salin Bank


Kirby Risk


Chris Brown Properties


Bison Financial Group


Purdue Employees Federal Credit
Wahl Architecture


Bank One and Bank One Foundation
Farmer's State Bank of Brookston


Insight Communications
Weast Music


Eli Lilly and Co/Tippecanoe Laboratories
Lafayette Life Insurance

back to top

John Corey Arts Leadership Award

John Corey Arts Leadership Award is given each year to a person who exhibits and embodies leadership in the arts. A John Corey Arts Leadership Award recipient regularly demonstrates their commitment to the arts and advances the role of the arts.

Past Years Recipients
2015 Sara Mummey
2014 Margot Marlatt
2013 Eric Van Cleave
2012 Bonnie Zimmer
2011 Scott Freeman
2010 David Lahr
2009 Virgil St. John
2008 Kathryn & Howie Clark
2007 Todd Wetzel
2006 Charlie Shook
2005 Sheila Klinker
2004 Sonya Margerum
2003 Suzie Coles
2002 Jim Bodenmiller
2001 John Corey

back to top

Suzanne Stafford Memorial Award

Each year at its annual meeting, TAF presents the Suzanne Stafford Memorial Award to an outstanding arts volunteer in Tippecanoe County. Stafford Award recipients are life long contributors to the arts and provide a valuable perspective to the evolution of the arts in the region.

Past Years Recipients
2015 Sonya Margerum
2014 Jeff and Jane Boswell
2013 Kathy Trout
2012 Robert Jeffares
2011 Kristel Kaye
2010 David Lahr
2009 Linda Vanderkolk
2008 Tom Moran
2007 Doug Gutridge
2006 Harriet Coppoc
2005 Mary Ellen Lovell
2004 Marylin Howland
2003 June Stuckey
2002 Verna Abe
2001 Kent Schuette
2000 John Corey
1999 Patricia Barrett
1998 Caryl Matthews
1997 Sheila Klinker
1996 Gil & Sharlene Konowitch
1995 Patricia Truitt
1994 Ernie & Roberta Deagan
1992 Jim Bodenmiller
1991 Kathy Matter
1990 Jim & Pat Ross
1989 Barbara Houze
1988 Bob Zink
1987 Dick Jaeger
1984 Peggy Bryan
1983 O.U. & Alice Sullivan
1982 Page Karling
1981 Stuart Main

back to top